Looking for God in the routine

routine title.png

Fall is coming…

And, it’s bringing routine with it.

Routine.

I kind of have a love/hate relationship with routine.

Routine is comfortable.

It’s so comfortable, we can do routine on auto-pilot.

The kids go to school and do their thing.

We go to work and do our thing.

Practices, meetings, games, performances, projects, chores, homework, housework, paperwork…we all “punch the clock” with our routines every day.

And then we hit repeat and do it all over again.

When routine gets so…you know…routine, we tend to forget that God is still fully present with us in our routines.

Our tendency is to look for God only in the big and extraordinary things and miss seeing Him in the rhythm of our ordinary, routine, everyday lives.

And then our relationship with Him ends up going on auto-pilot as well.

We “punch the clock” at church on Sunday…and then go through the motions with Him the rest of the week.

And then we hit repeat the next Sunday and do it all over again.

Our relationship with God just becomes another one of our comfortable routines.

The good news is that God is just as present and just as powerful in your normal, everyday, routine life as He is when your life is turned upside-down.

He is fully present in your home.

He is fully present in your workplace.

He is fully present in your kids’ school.

He is fully present at the gym or on the field.

He is fully present in your neighborhood.

He is fully present in your life everywhere, all the time…

Even in your routine.

So, as fall brings routine with it, you might want to ask yourself…

Where is God in my routine?

Am I looking for Him in my routine, or am I missing seeing Him in the ordinary?

Is my relationship with God on auto-pilot right now, or am I actively seeking and pursuing Him in the normal rhythm of my days?

Fall is coming, and it’s bringing routine with it.

Fortunately, God is fully present in the routine…and He isn’t going anywhere.

 

Let all that I am praise the Lordwith my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.
Let all that I am praise the Lordmay I never forget the good things he does for me.

Psalms 103:1-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

