What Adversity Teaches Us About Ourselves

Adversity Title

Life is full of moments of adversity.

Adversity is full of life-shaping moments.

(I call them “take it on the chin” moments).

It’s in these moments of adversity when we learn the most about ourselves…

We learn things like what we care about the most, who we trust, what we’ll fight for, and what we’re willing to let go.

Adversity comes from all kinds of people and places and in all kinds of shapes and sizes…

From family and close friends to the coworker who makes your life miserable.

From places like your kid’s sports’ teams to even your church.

Some adversity comes in the shape of simple everyday annoyances, like having someone steal your parking place at the mall or cutting you off on the freeway.

Some adversity comes in the size of big, life-changing challenges, like a broken friendship or getting bad news from the doctor.

Adversity is life.

It’s a reminder that life on this earth changed forever when sin entered into it.

So, the question we should be asking ourselves when it comes to adversity is not, how can I avoid it, but how can my faith help me grow in the midst of it?

What is this moment of adversity teaching me about what I value the most?  Is what I value the most the right thing?

What is this moment of adversity teaching me about who (or what) I put my trust in the most?  Am I trusting more in God or myself?

Is this moment of adversity worth fighting for…or do I need to let it go and trust God to handle it?  Do I want his will or my will?

Ultimately, it’s in these moments of adversity that we can choose to trust God or not.  We can choose to deal with these moments with his strength or our own.

Adversity will either make your faith in God stronger or it will make you question whether or not everything you’ve ever believed about him is true.

What will it be for you the next time you “take it on the chin”?

What will you learn the next time a moment of adversity happens to you?

 

When David and his men reached Ziklag, they found it destroyed by fire and their wives and sons and daughters taken captive. So David and his men wept aloud until they had no strength left to weep. David was greatly distressed because the men were talking of stoning him; each one was bitter in spirit because of his sons and daughters. But David found strength in the Lord his God.  1 Samuel 30:3-4, 6

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

