What would you do with more time?

It’s Leap Year.

Three cheers for one extra day.

24 more hours that I didn’t have last year.

I’ve often wondered what I’d do with more time, and now that I have it, I’m realizing that it’s hard not to just treat it like any other day.

The truth is life is full (or busy or crazy or whatever word you like to use to impress people with how much you do in a day).

But, if we had more time, would we really do anything different with it?

Or, would we just fill it up with more of the same things we do on any other day of the year?

Think of all the things you’ve said you would do if you only had more time.

Think of all the times you’ve said you would do something but didn’t end up doing them because you ran out of time.

Are you doing any of those things today?

I’m not…

My extra day is just like any other Monday.

Time title

The point is that we use time for the things that are most important to us.

And, today is reminding me that I don’t need more time…

I need to make the most of the time I’ve been given (no matter what day it is).  

Every day, I need to ask myself how I can make the most of the hours God has given me.

So, when I do end up with an extra day like today, it’ll be just like every other day…

And, it won’t be wasted.

 

15 So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. 16 Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days.17 Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.  Ephesians 5:15-17 (NLT)

 

Leave a Reply

