When you’re struggling with sin, feed the good dog

feed the good dog.title

The struggle is real.

Temptation.  Persecution.  Suffering.

The struggle is constant and unavoidable.

Sin.  Evil.  Hate.

The struggle is nothing new.

It’s been written about and pondered for centuries.

Thousands of years ago, a religious leader named Paul, said it this way…

I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate. And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. 19 I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway. 20 But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it. 

More recently, the Irish playwright, George Bernard Shaw, shared this little story…

A Native American elder once described his own inner struggles this way: “Inside of me there are two dogs. One of the dogs is mean and evil. The other dog is good. The mean dog fights the good dog all the time.” When someone asked him which dog wins, he thought for a moment and said, “The one I feed the most.”

The struggle is real.

I can relate.

So, what’s the answer?

Feed the good dog.

Feed on God’s Word.

Taste the Truth.

Digest the Scriptures.

Listen to the Holy Spirit.

And, let the good dog win.

16 So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves. 17 The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are the opposite of what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, so you are not free to carry out your good intentions.  (Galatians 5:16-17)

Leave a Reply

