The Problem of Disconnection in a Connected World

connection title

Connection.

We need connection.

We were made for relationships with people.

And, the connections that we can make with each other today are endless.

(Just think of how far we’ve come with the introduction of the cell phone and the Internet in the past 30 years).

We were created to be connected to our Creator.

And, the connections that we can make with Him are practically endless too.

(Just think of how technology has made the Bible more accessible and readable to more people today compared to 50 years ago).

The problem is that even though we have endless ways to be connected to each other and to God, we can just as easily be disconnected from both of them…and that’s not necessarily a good thing.

I was reminded of this recently with my computer…

Today, I can’t connect to my printer.

Last week, I couldn’t connect to the internet.

This is not a good thing.

I feel disconnected…and frustrated and anxious and helpless and angry.

And, I end up wasting a lot of time, because I can’t do all the things that I normally do.

But, it got me thinking…

I need connection.

I need people in my life who will encourage me, challenge me, laugh with me, cheer with me, cry with me, hang out with me, check on me…

Without those connections, everyday life is hard (and often frustrating…).

I also need God in my life, because He is my strength, He is my peace, He is my hope, He is my wisdom, He is my purpose…

Without my connection to God, everyday life leaves me feeling anxious and frustrated.

And, I end up wasting a lot of time, because I try to do things (or control things) alone.

And, that’s a problem.

The bottom line is this…

You need connection.

Now might be a good time to ask yourself these two questions…

Who are the people in your life who you need to be connected to?

What are you doing every day to stay connected to God?

11 Dear brothers and sisters, I close my letter with these last words: Be joyful. Grow to maturity. Encourage each other. Live in harmony and peace. Then the God of love and peace will be with you. (2 Corinthians 13:11)

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5)

Leave a Reply

