Playing Hide & Seek With God

hide and seek title

Hide & Seek.

I’ve played a LOT of Hide & Seek in my lifetime…

And, as I think back to the games I’ve played, one thing sticks out in my memory.

It’s that moment when the person counting yells “Ready or not, here I come!”…

And I’m not ready.

Know the feeling?

As a kid, you probably did what I did and either yelled back for more time or quickly scrambled just to hide yourself somewhere.

I hated that feeling.

I always wanted to be ready…that was the point of the game.

And, I think that’s the point of being a Christian too.

We need to be ready when Jesus returns.

The Bible (even Jesus Himself for that matter) makes it clear that the “game” is on.

Only the stakes of this “game” are a whole lot higher than any game of Hide & Seek you’ve ever played.

Somewhere, Jesus is counting, and He’s waiting for the Father to say “Go!”

And, at that moment, there won’t be the option to yell for more time or even scramble to hide yourself.

You’ll either be ready…or not.

44 You also must be ready all the time, for the Son of Man will come when least expected.  Matthew 24:44 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

