We are what we repeatedly do… 3 actions that will help you be who you say you are

Christian title

Apparently, I’m a “legit” Duck fan…

At least according to Twitter…which just added me to the list of “Legit Duck Fans.”

If you know me at all, you know that I love my sports…

And I love my Ducks!

So, I guess that Twitter got it right…I’m legit.

This whole legit-Duck-fan thing got me thinking…

Am I a “legit” Christian?

(Can I even use “legit” and “Christian” in the same sentence?  It almost sounds sacrilegious…)

What is a Christian, anyway?

How would you answer that question?

I was reminded last week that we are what we repeatedly do, which must mean that if we are Christians we should be repeatedly doing something to make us who we are.

Or, to put it a different way…

For Christians, it’s more about what we DO and less about what we SAY.

180bink2ko17qjpg

Actions do speak louder than words, especially if you say you’re one thing but you’re actions say you’re not.

So, what actions say that you’re a Christian?

What things should we repeatedly be doing to make us “legit?”

Let me give you three actions that will help you be who you say you are:

Connect with God.

Some ways that you can regularly connect with God include: prayer, silence/meditation, & enjoying His creation.

Connect with Scripture.

Read it.  Listen to it.  Think about it.  Study it.  Memorize it.  Live it…

Every day.

Connect with Christians.

You can find opportunities to regularly connect in a church, small group, or even Bible studies at school or work.

Just don’t underestimate the importance of being connected with other people who are trying to follow Jesus with you…

We are all part of a body, and we need each other.  (Ephesians 4:11-16)

We also are what we repeatedly do, so…

Don’t just tell people that you are a Christian, show them Jesus.

14 What good is it, dear brothers and sisters, if you say you have faith but don’t show it by your actions? Can that kind of faith save anyone?  (James 2:14)

Leave a Reply

