3 Habits of a Healthy Jesus Follower

following-jesus

Habits.

We all have them.

Some habits are good…others are bad.

In many ways, our lives are defined by the habits we have.

Because, habits not only expose who we are today, they determine who we will be tomorrow.

If you’re a Jesus follower, chances are you have some habits that you’ve built into your life. 

You go to church.

You pray before meals.

You volunteer.

Don’t get me wrong, these are good habits.

But, let’s be honest…these habits alone won’t keep you following Jesus day in and day out.

There’s just got to be more to following Jesus than going to church on Sunday…

follow-me

If you are a Jesus follower (or if you want to be a Jesus follower), I’d like to suggest 3 habits that will keep you following Jesus every day. 

I’ll admit that these habits aren’t revolutionary or “new”…

But, if you’re like me, it’s good to be reminded of the basics.

So, here goes…

READ/LISTEN TO GOD’S WORD.

It’s hard to know how to follow Jesus in the every day if you don’t take time to read the one book that can help you do it the best.  And, in the age of technology we live in, there are lots of ways to “read” it.  If you don’t have a Bible handy, try using your smartphone or tablet (they’ll even read the Bible to you).

TALK TO GOD.

God has given us the gift of prayer so that we can communicate with Him 24/7.  But, don’t underestimate God’s ability to communicate with you through prayer too.  Make it a habit to talk to Him every day like you would a friend (and don’t forget to listen to what He has to say back to you).

CONFESS YOUR SIN.

When you sin (not “if”), stop what you’re doing and confess it to God.  The more you are willing to admit your sin to God and confess it to Him the moment it happens, the closer you will stay connected to Him. 

Don’t believe me?  Try waiting until Sunday to apologize to your spouse or sibling or friend when you’ve hurt them one of the other six days of the week.  It doesn’t work that way.

To be a Jesus follower means that you have to be close enough to Him to know where He is.  

In other words, you have to be connected to Him.

 

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me.

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.  (John 15:4-5)

 

This post was inspired by my good friend and co-worker, Bob Lott.  Thank you for reminding me of these habits and showing me what it looks like to follow Jesus and stay connected to Him every day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

