Live Like an Alien

I’ve never met an alien…

At least the kind you see in the movies.

So, when I read a verse in the Bible that says that I am an “alien” in this world, I have to wonder…

What do you mean, I’m an alien?!

Aliens don’t belong.

Aliens are different.

Aliens stand out.

Exactly.

stock-footage-standing-out-from-the-crowd

Let’s try that again…

Jesus followers don’t belong.

Jesus followers are different.

Jesus followers stand out.

standing out

This week, many of you will go back to school. 

And, my question for you is are you willing to live like an alien?

Are you willing to be the light of Jesus to the people around you?

Or, will you just blend in with the crowd?

 

“Dear brothers and sisters, you are foreigners and aliens here.  So I warn you to keep away from evil desires because they fight against your very souls.  Be careful how you live among your unbelieving neighbors.  Even if they accuse you of doing wrong, they will see your honorable behavior, and they will believe and give honor to God when he comes to judge the world.”  (I Peter 2:11-12) (NLT)

Leave a Reply

