Would Jesus Recognize You Today?

“Do you recognize me?”

“Do you know who I am?”

A friend of mine asked me those questions today.

And, honestly I didn’t recognize him at first.

I guess I just didn’t expect to see him, and I looked right past him.

(Don’t you hate it when that happens?  Or, does this just happen to me sometimes?)

Anyway, the fact that I didn’t recognize him right away got me thinking…

Would Jesus recognize me today?

If I saw Jesus and asked Him the same two questions my friend asked me, what would Jesus say?

faceless-person

“Do you recognize me, Jesus?”

“Do you know who I am, Jesus?”

I guess His answer would depend on if we’re really friends.

I guess it would depend on if I have a relationship with Him.

Just because you sound religious or do “Christian” things, doesn’t mean that Jesus will recognize you.

Jesus Himself said, “You are my friends if you obey me.” (John 15:14)

Notice He didn’t say…

“You are my friends if you go to church, or if you’re a good person, or if you’re religious.”

If you want Jesus to recognize you, you have to obey Him.

If you want Jesus to know you, you have to know Him like a close friend…

So, what will Jesus say to you when all is said and done?

Will He recognize you and call you a friend, or will He tell you to go away?

 

21 “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. 22 On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ 23 But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’ (Matthew 7:21-23)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

