Choose Joy Today

6a00d8341fd10e53ef0148c87414db970c-800wi

“Because I’m happy…”

…at least that’s what the song tells us.

Don’t get me wrong, I like to be happy.  But, happiness has its limits.

If your life is anything like mine, it has it’s share of ups and downs.

I have my good days and bad days, but doesn’t everybody?

If you catch me on a “good” day, I’m happy.

If you catch me on a “bad” day…not so happy.

Happiness is unpredictable.

You can be happy one day (or even one minute), and not be happy the next.

Happiness is elusive.

You can do everything in your power to find happiness and still not be happy.

I think we all assume though that if life is good, we will generally be happy.

We assume that if we only had more money or a better job or more time or more friends or more whatever, then we’d be happy.

If only…

So, we pursue the “good life” (whatever that is) because that’s the happy life, and we want to be happy.

But, what if the happy life isn’t so happy?

If happiness is so unpredictable and elusive, why pursue it?

Turns out that we all have a choice to make every day…

choose-joy

Pursue happiness or choose joy.

If you choose to pursue happiness, you will never be satisfied.

You will never have enough…

And, you will still have bad days.

If you choose joy, you will always be satisfied.

You will always have enough…

Even though you will still have bad days.

Choosing joy doesn’t mean pursuing happiness.

Choosing joy means pursuing Jesus.

And, He is more than enough…no matter how good or how bad your day is.

 

“I have loved you even as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love. 10 When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have told you these things so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow!”  (Jesus in John 15:9-11)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

