Chicken & Waffles: what my son taught me about reading God’s Word

Chicken and waffles.

Chicken_Waffles

Been around for a while, but not exactly a delicacy in the northwest corner of America…which makes it a bit unusual that my son decided to eat it for breakfast this morning.

What makes it even more unusual is that my son is a pretty picky eater, and not one to try new things.

But, he liked the chicken and waffles…

Makes me wonder what else he’d like if he actually tried it…picky eaters miss out on so much sweet-tasting food!

This morning, I came across this verse in Psalms that reminded me that God’s Word is sweet to the taste.  The verse goes like this…

103 How sweet your words taste to me;
    they are sweeter than honey.  (Psalms 119:103)

It made me wonder if that’s how I really treat God’s Word…like a sweet-tasting food.

Or, am I a spiritually picky eater?

Am I content with the “easy” or “comfortable” or “familiar” parts of Scripture?

Or, am I willing to explore new parts of God’s Word that I’ve never read before?

Spiritually picky eaters miss out on so much of God’s sweet-tasting words. 

If you approach all of God’s Word with the attitude behind this week’s verse, you’ll soon find that reading it is like sitting down to a never-ending feast.

So, open up your Bible and let the feasting begin…

(Don’t know where to start?  Try reading the rest of Psalms 119…)

One thought on “Chicken & Waffles: what my son taught me about reading God’s Word

Leave a Reply

