Shrinky Dink Faith: What a toy fad from the 80’s taught me about faith

Remember Shrinky Dinks?

mr-t-shrinky-dinks

Back in the 80’s, they hit their peak of popularity…I can still remember being entertained by taking sheets of my favorite cartoon characters and “shrinking” them in the oven.

Remember the smell?  Yeah, I remember that too…makes you wonder how they made melting plastic so appealing, doesn’t it?

Shrinky Dinks made for some great, cheap fun.  And, they were pretty harmless toys too (unless you had an oven malfunction…).

shrinky_dinks_650x300_a01_1

If you happened to miss out on the Shrinky Dink craze of the 80’s, you didn’t miss much…

It’s basically a flexible plastic sheet that shrinks and hardens when heated in the oven.

It got me thinking though…what if my faith was like a Shrinky Dink?

What if every time the fires of life started heating up around me, my faith shrunk…and eventually hardened?

What if every time something bad happened, my faith in God got smaller instead of bigger?

What if every time my faith was tested, I shrunk back instead of stood up for what I believe in?

Seems like Shrinky Dinks made for some good childhood memories…but I don’t to be remembered as a guy who had Shrinky Dink faith.

What about you?

Is your faith like a Shrinky Dink…or is it growing bigger every day?

 

36 You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. 37 For,

“In just a little while,
    he who is coming will come
    and will not delay.”[a]

38 And,

“But my righteous[b] one will live by faith.
    And I take no pleasure
    in the one who shrinks back.”[c]

39 But we do not belong to those who shrink back and are destroyed, but to those who have faith and are saved.

Hebrews 10:26-39 (NIV)

 

Leave a Reply

