Is God strong enough to save you?

Let me set up a scene for you…

Image

You are walking on a narrow trail near the top of a cliff.  It’s a high cliff…high enough that it’s difficult to see the bottom.  High enough that what you are doing is dangerous and you are risking your life with every step you take.

So, you’re walking along this trail, and you happen to trip over a rock in the ground.  And, you start falling over the cliff…

Fortunately, you weren’t walking alone.

In fact, in this scene, God is walking with you.  And, He reaches out and grabs your hand as you begin to fall.  Now, you’re hanging over a cliff with nothing between you and certain death except for God’s grip on your hand.

The question is…who is saving who at this point?

Are you saving yourself by holding onto God’s hand, or is He saving you by holding onto your hand?

(You could make the argument that it’s a little bit of both, and I’d be okay with that).

But really, do you think you’d be strong enough to save yourself?

Would you have any assurance or hope or confidence in yourself that you wouldn’t let go at some point?

Maybe it’s just me, but if it was up to me to hold on, I’d let go every time.

I’d give up.

I’d get tired…or frustrated…or lose focus.

So, I guess the next question is…is God strong enough to save you?

Will He ever let go of your hand?

Will He ever get tired or frustrated or lose focus?

The answer is no.

God will never let you go.

If you are trusting God to save you, He will save you.

If you are trusting yourself to save you, you will fall.

Who are you trusting to save you today?

 

27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them away from me, 29 for my Father has given them to me, and he is more powerful than anyone else. No one can snatch them from the Father’s hand.  (John 10:27-29) (NLT)

 

Leave a Reply

