A Sideways Life

Sideways.

The sled went sideways.

Off track.

All those hours of sacrifice, hard work, and training…

And, the race was over in the first five seconds.

It was hard to watch, because you knew how much of his life this Olympian had dedicated to his sport.

All the sacrifices.

All the injuries.

All the travel.

All the work.

And, a sideways sled took it all away in seconds.

Image

I don’t know about you, but I often feel like I live a sideways life.

I get off track.

I make a bad decision.

I stop paying attention to details.

And, my life starts to go sideways.

But, this is where my life is different than that Olympian’s.

My “race” isn’t over when my life goes sideways.

I may get off track.

I may make a bad decision.

I may get distracted and lose focus.

But, my life isn’t over because…

I have hope.

I have peace.

I have a reason to keep going.

Why?

Because, I’m not living my life for things that can be measured and lost in seconds.

I’m living for eternity.

And, I’ve dedicated my life to a God who can take my sideways life, put it back on track, and make it count for stuff that matters.

What are you living for?

If your life was like a race and it ended today, would it have mattered?

I Corinthians 9:25

25 All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize.

Leave a Reply

