Unwrapping the Ultimate Gift (Part 1): The Millennium Falcon

Christmas memories.

As a kid, one of my favorite Christmas memories was checking out the presents under the tree every year…the shape and size of each gift.

The number of gifts with my name on them…

One of my favorite Christmas gifts as a kid was the Millennium Falcon ship from the Star Wars movies.  I had hours of fun with that toy and with the little plastic Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, Chewbacca, R2-D2, and C-3PO figures that came with it.

Image

Sometimes I wonder what it would have been like if I had never opened that gift…if I had just left it wrapped underneath the tree.

I guess I would never have really experienced what it was like to have it.  And, I’d probably wonder if it was really as fun or as cool as I thought it would be.

Have you ever thought about Jesus like a Christmas gift?

Think about it…He’s really the Ultimate Gift.

John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son…”

But, let’s imagine for a second that Jesus is like a wrapped gift underneath your Christmas tree.  And, opening that gift represents accepting the opportunity that God has given to each one of us to have a personal relationship with Him.

What would it be like to know that God has given you this Ultimate Gift for you to open, and never open it?

It’s one thing to know who Jesus is and believe that He exists.

But, that’s like me knowing there’s this thing called the Millennium Falcon and believing the toy exists.

It doesn’t mean much to me personally until I open the gift and experience it for myself.

Kind of like opening up the gift of Jesus…

Next week… Unwrapping the Ultimate Gift (Part 2)

Ultimate Gift or Pretty Box?

Leave a Reply

